Equality for All: The Disability Discrimination Act in Australia

Equality for All: The Disability Discrimination Act in Australia

With the increasing reliance on digital platforms for communication, commerce, and accessing essential services, it is imperative that websites and digital content are accessible to individuals with disabilities. This is a priority in Australia where there are 1 in 5 people living with a disability. This proportion is steadily increasing.  Let’s take a look at web accessibility and the disability discrimination act in Australia, the legal requirements, and initiatives aimed at fostering digital inclusion:

Legal Framework and Standards:

  • The Disability Discrimination Act 1992 (DDA)

In Australia, the Disability Discrimination Act 1992 (DDA) serves as the primary legislation addressing disability discrimination, including digital accessibility. Under the DDA requirements, it is unlawful to discriminate against individuals with disabilities in employment, education, and public places, which include goods, services, and facilities made available by businesses, government and organizations. 

While the DDA does not explicitly mention web accessibility, it has been interpreted to include online accessibility obligations. This legal framework highlights the importance of web accessibility in ensuring equal access to information and services for all Australians.

1.2.      Litigation

In 2014, an Australian court interpreted the DDA to also apply to digital accessibility. The case involved Coles, one of the largest supermarket chains in Australia, being sued by Giselle Mesnage, a blind woman who claimed that Coles’ online shopping platform was inaccessible to blind or visually impaired individuals in violation of the DDA.

The case was settled in 2015 with supermarket giant Coles agreeing to take the necessary measures to ensure that its online shopping platform is easier for individuals with disabilities to access. 

  • Government Initiatives:

The Australian government has taken several initiatives to promote web accessibility and foster digital inclusion. The Digital Transformation Agency (DTA) developed the Digital Service Standard, which outlines public and private sector requirements to ensure that their digital services, including websites, are accessible and usable by all users and meet the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.1 requirements. WCAG 2.1 provides comprehensive guidelines for creating accessible websites, covering the aspects of POUR – perceivability, operability, understandability, and robustness.

Furthermore, the Australian Human Rights Commission (AHRC), a quasi-governmental organization that investigates claims of discrimination, plays a vital role in promoting and enforcing web accessibility standards. The AHRC provides resources, guidance, and complaint mechanisms to address issues of digital discrimination and non-compliance with accessibility requirements and is responsible for enforcing the DDA.

Web Accessibility Matters: Understanding Australia’s DDA

Beyond the legal requirements, inclusive digital experiences not only benefits individuals with disabilities but also contributes to improved user experiences for all users, including older adults and those with temporary impairments.

Businesses and organizations adopting accessibility best practices place themselves in a better position to enhance inclusivity, cater to diverse customer needs, and comply with legal requirements. Additionally, they foster a positive brand reputation, increase customer loyalty, and tap into untapped markets or customer segments.

Web accessibility is a vital aspect of ensuring equal access to digital information, services, and opportunities for individuals with disabilities in Australia. Compliance with legal requirements, such as the DDA requirements and the DTA’s adoption of WCAG 2.1, is essential for organizations to foster digital inclusion. By prioritizing web accessibility, businesses and organizations can create barrier-free online experiences that benefit all users and contribute to a more inclusive society.

UserWay: Unlocking Digital Inclusion

Through ongoing education, collaboration, and adherence to accessibility standards, UserWay is helping businesses make significant strides towards web inclusion, providing equal opportunities for all individuals, regardless of their abilities. UserWay’s accessibility solutions help businesses reach compliance while ensuring digital experiences are inclusive for everyone. 

Want to find out more? Request a demo to see how our solutions can work for you. 


What is the purpose of Australia’s Disability Discrimination Act 1992? 

“DDA” stands for the Disability Discrimination Act. The DDA is a federal law in Australia that aims to protect the rights of individuals with disabilities and promote equal opportunities for them. The act prohibits discrimination on the grounds of disability in various areas, including employment, education, access to public places, provision of goods and services, and more.

What are DDA compliance standards in Australia?

The DDA sets out certain standards and requirements for organizations to ensure accessibility and equal opportunities for people with disabilities. While the DDA does not provide specific technical guidelines, the Digital Transformation Agency (DTA) has developed the Digital Service Standard for the public and private sectors which advocates  compliance with WCAG 2.1.

Is web accessibility a legal requirement in Australia?

Yes, web accessibility can be considered a legal requirement in Australia. The Disability Discrimination Act (DDA) in Australia prohibits discrimination in the public and private sectors on the grounds of disability, and has been interpreted by the government and legal system to include the digital realm, such as websites and web-based services.

Check Your Site for Accessibility Issues

Please enter a valid URL